PATENTBOX
CALCULATOR

Welcome to the Patentbox-Calculator

Schneider Feldmann AG provides you with a simple calculation tool which allows you to estimate in a straightforward manner whether the installation of Patentboxes is worthwhile for your company or not.

In order to strengthen the innovation engine of Swiss SMEs, all Swiss cantons have been granting tax reductions since 2020 for companies that invest in research and development and have at least one granted patent, for example a granted Swiss patent. First, however, one or more Patentboxes of different categories must be set up and agreed with the responsible tax office; one-time purchase fees are charged for each Patentbox.

You can set up Patentboxes in three different categories:

  • Patentbox for a single patent, it concerns all sales associated with it
  • Patentbox for a single product, if it is protected by at least one patent;
  • Patentbox for a product group if there is at least one granted patent for it..

Once the decision has been taken, it cannot be changed. Because this decision is so important, you can use the tool below to calculate and compare individual variants with up to four Patentboxes without obligation.

 

The total profit of a company can be reduced by up to 90% of the Patentbox profits for cantonal tax assessment, depending on the canton, until a maximum limitation of deduction is reached. The federal tax remains unaffected by the Patentboxes. For that reason, an annual income statement must be prepared for each Patentbox set up in order to determine its profits.

In addition, accounts must be kept for development expenditure. The maximum amount can only be saved if the expenditure is largely spent in Switzerland. Expenditure on development work in foreign subsidiaries and purchases of intellectual property rights, on the other hand, reduce the deductions.

Last but not least: Apart from deductions for Patentboxes, some cantons also allow certain deductions for research and development expenditure, but only on the basis of the (gross) wage costs incurred in Switzerland. No patents are required for this. These are also included in the calculation "without Patentbox", if permitted.

Should you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us. We will be happy to help you obtaining suitable patents - for Patentboxes - but also for more extensive protection of your investments on development, so that only you benefit from your innovations and you can keep your competitors at a distance.


 

Calculator

Canton
Total
Patentbox 1
Patentbox 2
Patentbox 3
Patentbox 4
Turnover
Total turnover of the company or the respective turnover on all products that fall into the respective Patentboxes. This also includes royalty income.
The total turnover of all patentboxes must not exceed the total turnover.
Profit
Total profit according to the income statement, which must be taxed, or the equally determined profits for each Patentbox.

The profit of a Patentbox must not exceed its turnover. Losses must be indicated with "0"..
 
Qualifying development costs
Annual costs incurred for the respective Patentbox for research and development in Switzerland or for external research and development contracts (worldwide). State the average value over the last 10 years or as long as applicable.
 
Non-qualifying development costs
Annual costs incurred for the respective Patentbox for research and development in company-owned subsidiaries abroad or for the purchase of property rights. State the average value over the last 10 years or as long as applicable.
 
Personnel costs for
research and development
Total of all gross wage costs spent on research and development in Switzerland in the tax year in question. Other research and development expenses are not deductible.

Calculation of deductions

 
Total
Patentbox 1
Patentbox 2
Patentbox 3
Patentbox 4
6% of allocated costs
 
Brand fee 1% of sales
 
Residual profit
 
Nexus quotient
 
 
 
Patentbox deduction:
0
Deduction for research and development:
 
 
 
 
Total deductions:
 
 
 
 
Maximum permissible deduction (limitation of deduction):
 
 
 
 

Tax Calculation

Canton
with Patentbox
 
Canton
only R&D deductions
 
Federal
Allowable discount: CHF

 
 
(no seduction)
Taxation: CHF
 
 
0
Tax rate:
 
 
Tax amount: CHF
 
 
 
with Patentbox
 
only R&D deductions
 
Without deductions
Total federal &
cantonal tax: CHF
 
Reduced tax rate:
 
 
Tax saving: CHF
0.00
 
0.00
Tax saving: %
0
 
0
Adoption and simplifications:
- Linear taxation, no progression
- Taxation at the canton's main location
- No property taxes taken into account
Disclaimer:
All information without guarantee. The Patentbox-Calculator considers only the tax advantages of Patentboxes and development costs and does not calculate the exact tax; the data should serve as an aid to decision-making. The last known publicly available tax rates of the cantons were used.

 

Feedback

Do you like this Patentbox-Calculator? We are looking forward to your feedback by e-mail or with the form below.

 

 

© Copyright Schneider Feldmann AG, 2020

Interested in learning more?

Please visit us in our office, also together with your trustee. During an hour-long personal consultation at a reduced price of CHF 200, we will be happy to answer all your questions regarding the Patentbox.

Our free Patentbox seminar, which we had planned to hold for our customers on June 4, 2020 at the Hotel Gotthard in Zurich, unfortunately had to be postponed. If you are interested in an invitation to this seminar, you can let us know using the form on the right. You will hear from us as soon as the postponement date is known..

We look forward to your visit. 

Your Schneider Feldmann Team

PATENTBOX
CALCULATOR

Willkommen beim Patentbox-Calculator

Schneider Feldmann AG stellt Ihnen hier ein einfaches Berechnungstool zur Verfügung, mit dem Sie auf unkomplizierte Art abschätzen können, ob sich für Ihre Unternehmung die Einrichtung von Patentboxen lohnt oder nicht.

Um den Innovationsmotor der Schweizer KMUs zu stärken, gewähren alle Schweizer Kantone seit 2020 Steuerermässigungen für Firmen, welche in Forschung und Entwicklung investieren und mindestens ein erteiltes Patent haben, beispielsweise ein erteiltes Schweizer Patent. Zunächst müssen aber eine oder mehrere Patentboxen verschiedener Kategorien eingerichtet und mit dem zuständigen Steueramt abgesprochen werden; es fallen einmalige Einkaufsgebühren für jede Patentbox an.

Sie können Patentboxen in drei verschiedenen Kategorien einrichten:

  • Patentbox für ein einzelnes Patent, sie betrifft alle damit verbunden Umsätze;
  • Patentbox für ein einzelnes Produkt, wenn es durch mindestens ein Patent geschützt ist;
  • Patentbox für eine Produktgruppe, wenn mindestens ein erteiltes Patent dazu besteht.

Ist die Entscheidung einmal getroffen, lässt sie sich nicht mehr ändern. Da diese Entscheidung so wichtig ist, können Sie mit untenstehendem Tool einzelne Varianten mit bis zu vier Patentboxen unverbindlich durchrechnen und vergleichen.

 

Der Gesamtgewinn einer Unternehmung kann für die kantonale Steuerbemessung, je nach Kanton, um bis zu 90% der Patentboxengewinne reduziert werden, bis eine maximale Entlastungsbegrenzung erreicht ist. Die Bundessteuer bleibt von den Patentboxen unberührt. Für jede eingerichtete Patentbox muss daher eine jährliche Erfolgsrechnung erstellt werden, um deren Gewinne zu ermitteln.

Zudem muss über die Entwicklungsausgaben Buch geführt werden. Denn nur wenn diese massgeblich in der Schweiz ausgegeben werden, kann der maximale Betrag eingespart werden. Ausgaben für Entwicklungsarbeiten in ausländischen Niederlassungen und Einkäufe von Schutzrechten schmälern hingegen die Abzugsmöglichkeiten.

Zuletzt noch dies: Abgesehen von Abzugsmöglichkeiten für Patentboxen sind in manchen Kantonen auch gewisse Abzüge für Forschungs- und Entwicklungsausgaben erlaubt, allerdings einzig auf Grund der (Brutto) Lohnkosten, die dafür in der Schweiz aufgewendet werden. Dazu sind keine Patente notwendig. Diese werden, wenn zulässig, auch in der Berechnung «ohne Patentbox» berücksichtigt.

Sollten Sie weitere Fragen haben, stehen wir Ihnen gerne beratend zur Verfügung. Gerne helfen wir Ihnen, für Sie geeignete Patente zu erwirken – für Patentboxen – aber auch für einen weitergehenden Schutz Ihrer Entwicklungsinvestitionen, damit nur Sie von Ihren Innovationen profitieren und sie Ihre Mitbewerber auf Distanz halten können.


 

Calculator

Kanton
Gesamt
Patentbox 1
Patentbox 2
Patentbox 3
Patentbox 4
Umsatz
Gesamtumsatz des Unternehmens resp. die jeweiligen Umsätze auf alle Produkte, die in die entsprechenden Patentboxen fallen. Dazu zählen auch Lizenzeinnahmen.

Die Summe der Umsätze der Patentboxen darf den Gesamtumsatz nicht übersteigen.
Gewinn
Gesamtgewinn gemäss Erfolgsrechnung, der versteuert werden muss, resp. die gleichermassen ermittelten Gewinne für jede Patentbox.

Der Gewinn einer Patentbox darf deren Umsatz nicht übersteigen. Verluste sind mit «0» anzugeben.
 
Qualifizierende Entwicklungskosten
Jährliche Kosten, die für die jeweilige Patentbox für Forschung und Entwicklung in der Schweiz oder für externe Forschungs- und Entwicklungsaufträge (weltweit) aufgewendet wurde. Anzugeben ist der Mittelwert über die letzten 10 Jahre, oder solange zutreffend.
 
Nichtqualifizierende Entwicklungskosten
Jährliche Kosten, die für die jeweilige Patentbox für Forschung und Entwicklung in firmeneigenen Niederlassungen im Ausland oder für Zukauf von Schutzrechten aufgewendet wurde. Anzugeben ist der Mittelwert über die letzten 10 Jahre, oder solange zutreffend.
 
Personalkosten für Forschung und Entwicklung
Summe aller Brutto- Lohnkosten, die im betreffenden Steuerjahr für Forschung und Entwicklung in der Schweiz ausgegeben wurden. Weitere Ausgaben für Forschung und Entwicklung sind nicht abzugsberechtigt.

Berechnung der Abzüge

 
Gesamt
Patentbox 1
Patentbox 2
Patentbox 3
Patentbox 4
6% der zugewiesenen Kosten
 
Markenentgelt 1% vom Umsatz
 
Residualgewinn
 
Nexusquotient
 
 
 
Patentbox Abzug:
0
Abzug für Forschung und Entwicklung:
 
 
 
 
Summe der Abzüge:
 
 
 
 
Maximal zulässiger Abzug (Entlastungsbegrenzung):
 
 
 
 

Steuerberechnung

Kanton
mit Patentbox
 
Kanton
nur F&E Abzüge
 
Bund
Gewährbarer Abzug: CHF

 
 
(kein Abzug)
Besteuerung: CHF
 
 
0
Steuersatz:
 
 
Steuerbetrag: CHF
 
 
 
mit Patentbox
 
nur F&E Abzüge
 
Ohne Abzüge
Gesamtsteuer
Bund & Kanton: CHF
 
Reduzierter Steuersatz:
 
 
Steuerersparnis: CHF
0.00
 
0.00
Steuerersparnis: %
0
 
0
Annahme und Vereinfachungen:
- Lineare Besteuerung, keine Progression
- Versteuerung am Hauptort des Kantons
- Keine Liegenschaftensteuern berücksichtigt
Disclaimer:
Alle Angaben ohne Gewähr. Der Patentbox-Calculator berücksichtigt einzig die Steuervorteile durch Patentboxen und Entwicklungskosten und berechnet nicht die exakte Steuer; die Angaben sollen als Entscheidungshilfe dienen. Es wurden die zuletzt bekannten öffentlich zugänglichen Steuersätze der Kantone verwendet.

 

Feedback

Gefällt Ihnen dieser Rechner? Wir freuen uns über Ihr Feedback per E-Mail oder mit untenstehendem Formular.

 

 

© Copyright Schneider Feldmann AG, 2020

Interesse, mehr zu erfahren?

Besuchen Sie uns in unserer Kanzlei, gerne auch zusammen mit Ihrem Treuhänder. Bei einem stündigen persönlichen Beratungsgespräch zum reduzierten Preis von CHF 200 beantworten wir Ihnen gerne alle Fragen im Zusammenhang mit der Patentbox.

Unser kostenloses Patentbox-Seminar, das wir am 4. Juni 2020 im Hotel Gotthard in Zürich für unsere Kunden durchführen wollten, musste leider verschoben werden. Sollten Sie Interesse an einer Einladung dazu haben, können Sie uns das mit nebenstehendem Formular mitteilen. Sie hören dann von uns, sobald das Verschiebungsdatum bekannt ist.

Wir freuen uns auf Ihren Besuch. 

Ihr Schneider Feldmann Team